Initial Playthrough  

Page 1 / 2 Next
  RSS

0

If a mastery is usable outside combat (during the game turn) when can you use it?  If "whenever" is the rule that things are sequential and not simultaneous in a phase (so I can not decide to use a mastery after getting 1 for Survival)?

2: does dead king spend a turn turning a city, out is it free on the turn he reaches it?  (This would be a good opportunity for non-combat difficulty level)

3: do you grab a 3, 4, or 7 tile to fill in, are empty hexes impassable, are peaks and open water the only restricted terrain? (Placing E-N tile of choice would be another good non-combat difficulty option)

Good explore/adventure game.  Can be tough to get started...so I've suggested some non-combat difficulty level adjustments.  To those, eating and scrounging seem, initially, to interfere.  Starter: make 1 for all 3 (also, pick starting city), Easy: make 2 for all 3 (still pick starting city)  Idk...playing 2 pcs with starting NES of 1-4 made for constant failure (poor road network contributed).  I had to peg ES to get into the race (DK comes out early - what about only on a hex, roll 1 die, +1 die per turn; d10s start, d6 easy, then just max the turn number mod:3, dif:2, hero:1, epic:0(start))

4: Difficulty: by +5/hero, you mean add +5 times the number of heroes?  Does difficulty +1 damage apply to every source of damage...but not block/defend?

5:When a mastery says you can also use your defend power, can you also use an item?

6: "ally" does not ever include the pc? ("choose an ally" excludes self - you are not your own ally)

7: Elixer does not heal when taken, just in successive declaration rounds? If you hit 0 in Resolution, you die - active Elixer doesn't bring you back?

8:adding party...can someone jump in, just not getting any starting gold? (seems like any party starts splitting 50 gold...another opportunity for a difficulty adjustment).

9: Can combat rounds continue when all opponents are defeated (to use combat abilities "this combat")...and can "Game Turn" powers be used before and after combat (still limited throughout...1/game turn meaning once through all a game turn's phases)?

I would suggest that cards make a better randomizer for city and target selection, and chits better for food&gold.  Need blank encounter cards...

0

Hi Chuck, quite a few really neat ideas in here!

I'll try to answer all of your questions. 

If a mastery is usable outside combat (during the game turn) when can you use it?  If "whenever" is the rule that things are sequential and not simultaneous in a phase (so I can not decide to use a mastery after getting 1 for Survival)?

Masteries are usable outside of combat at any time usually. These types of Masteries typically heal the group. However, you are still bound to the order in which events occur. So for instance, you cannot use your mastery after you roll a 1 in Survival during the Skill phase in order to save yourself an Energy. You would have needed to use the mastery before you rolled the die.

2: does dead king spend a turn turning a city, out is it free on the turn he reaches it?  (This would be a good opportunity for non-combat difficulty level)

3: do you grab a 3, 4, or 7 tile to fill in, are empty hexes impassable, are peaks and open water the only restricted terrain? (Placing E-N tile of choice would be another good non-combat difficulty option)

4: Difficulty: by +5/hero, you mean add +5 times the number of heroes?  Does difficulty +1 damage apply to every source of damage...but not block/defend?

5:When a mastery says you can also use your defend power, can you also use an item?

6: "ally" does not ever include the pc? ("choose an ally" excludes self - you are not your own ally)

7: Elixer does not heal when taken, just in successive declaration rounds? If you hit 0 in Resolution, you die - active Elixer doesn't bring you back?

8:adding party...can someone jump in, just not getting any starting gold? (seems like any party starts splitting 50 gold...another opportunity for a difficulty adjustment).

9: Can combat rounds continue when all opponents are defeated (to use combat abilities "this combat")...and can "Game Turn" powers be used before and after combat (still limited throughout...1/game turn meaning once through all a game turn's phases)?

2. The City falls the turn in which the dead king takes it. 

3. You may place any non "HEXtile" map pieces around the board at any time. The "HEXtile" pieces are the tiles labeled E-N, and these can only be placed when you move to the edge of any location in which a tile can be placed. It is correct that Mountain Peaks and Open Water tiles are the only restricted terrain types. The players may move over these tiles when they gain the appropriate movement item (Climbing Gear and Folding Boat).

4. +5/hero does mean +5 times the number of heroes playing. The damage increase does increase each ability that deals damage, but does not affect Conditions. It also does not effect Defend/Block amounts.

5. Yes.

6. When a mastery says it affects an ally, it cannot affect yourself. It can however effect, a hero, or an escort, or any other encounter you might have as an ally in your group.

7. The Handy Elixir begins the Regen effect in the Declaration phase of the round following its use and continues for 3 rounds total. If your hero dies, this item will not bring you back to life.

8. Yep, you can have anyone jump in at any time. We typically house rule this option, you can do it in several ways.

9. No. Combat ends when your opponent(s) is/are defeated. Once per Game Turn powers are usable only once in combat, as all combat takes place within 1 Game Turn.

 

Thanks!

 

 

Thanks for the quick response...two follow ups and an omission:

3a: hex holes (ran out or nothing fits, like a 1hex empty space) are...impassable? If so, does the DK go around, or past?

9a: Divine One's Empowered Recovery resurrects, but only in this combat, so if you kill the opponent, combat ends and you are too late to save the PC?

10: is half of 3 one (for the Navigate wander check)?

Thanks, (still in the "Tag" endgame with the DK)

0

Tried to edit out my Navigate question (half of 3 is 2 for Navigate - its in the rules already).

Found answer to empty spaces on a forum (impassable to all)...so my only remaining question is about 9a...a precipitous opponent death ending combat and keeping the Divine One from resurrecting an ally that just died, by kicking you out of combat.

Page 1 / 2 Next
Share: